Blog

Jason McElwain: The Anti-Bode Miller

If you haven’t heard about the story of Jason McElwain by now, now is a good time to do so.

Jason’s story is not only one of the greatest sports stories ever, it is one of the greatest stories ever. He was diagnosed as highly functioning autistic and has served as a team manager for the boys’ basketball team at Greece Athena High School near Rochester, NY. As a gift to him his senior year, the coach of the team let him suit up for the final game. With four minutes to play and Greece Athena up by 20 points, Jason entered the game to a rousing ovation.

With the crowd going nuts and hoping beyond hope Jason would score in his only high school basketball appearance, he air-balled his first shot attempt–a three-pointer from the right corner. His second shot attempt rimmed out.

Things looked bleak until reality suddenly became surreal, and a high school basketball game became one of life’s inspiring moments.

Jason tried another three-pointer…and swished it. The gym erupted. The place was going nuts.

But Jason was far from finished.

He hit another 3…and another…and another. When it was all over, Jason tied a school record with six made three-pointers and finished with a game-high 20 points–in just four minutes!

With each made basket, the place erupted more and more. Just watch the bench in the video below…it is one of the greatest things I have ever seen. And when he is carried off the floor by his teammates and fellow students, it looks like it is out of a movie, which I am sure is already in the works.

But you know what? A movie will never be as emotional and inspiring as the real thing.

So while Bode Miller was “partying at an Olympic level” instead of actually competing at an Olympic level and showing us the bad side of sports, Jason McElwain came along and reminded us all of how great and wonderful sports can be.

From YouTube.com:

Thinking of Albany

Usually around this time of year, I’m getting set to go to the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Basketball Championships. The MAAC Tournament typically alternates each year between the two New York cities of Albany and Buffalo each year. This year, it’s back in Albany, which I like because it’s only about 3 1/2 hours away and it does a nice job of hosting the event.

Another cool thing about Albany is The Egg, the performance arts venue shown in the accompanying picture. It’s a fascinating building that seems ridiculously out of place.

Unfortunately, I won’t be going to Albany this year because the Rider men’s basketball team–the very reason I go to the MAAC Tournament each year–is, to put it bluntly, not very good this year. It would just be a waste of time and money.

But I’m still thinking of Albany…and it just so happened that I came across the following video from They Might Be Giants. It is from a CD/DVD project called “Venue Songs,” for which they wrote a song about the city or venue they were in each day during a recent tour. Here is their musical tribute to Albany’s famous Egg:

Please don’t allow Bode Miller back into the country!

Seriously, I can’t imagine a bigger asshole than Bode Miller.

The guy is a total failure at the Winter Olympics and what does he say about his performance? He summed it up in four words:

“Man, I rocked here.”

Are you freakin’ kidding me? In what universe, does failing to finish three alpine events and a best finish of fifth place in the downhill count as having rocked?

But, wait…Bode didn’t stop there.

“Me, it’s been an awesome two weeks,” Miller said. “I got to party and socialize at an Olympic level.”

PARTY AND SOCIALIZE AT AN OLYMPIC LEVEL???!!!!???!???!!!??!?!??!

Holy crap!

I’m pretty sure Nike and the sponsors of the U.S. ski team didn’t spend all their money to send the team to the Winter Games just so Miller could go for the gold in the local bar scene.

Nike should have reminded Bode its slogan is “Just Do It.”

Not “Just Screw It.”

Bush and Bode: American idiots

I have wanted to chime in on this sale of London-based P&O to Dubai Ports World, based in and operated by the United Arab Emirates. However, my main problem is why are we so outraged over this now? Yes, I realize we would be giving control of many key U.S. ports to a country with alleged ties to terrorism. That could be a disaster.

However, I am curious to find out why we weren’t up in arms that a foreign company was responsible for securing our ports in the first place. Let me repeat…P&O, the company being bought by DP World, is based in London…England…in the United Kingdom! To me, it is insane that we have a foreign country looking over U.S. ports. Shouldn’t this fact have been a bigger issue BEFORE DP World even got involved?

Forgive me if I missed it, but I think there should have been a mainstream media story years ago about what would happen if the ports operated by a company based in a nation that is an ally were to be sold to a nation that quite possibly funded the 9/11 hijackers?

Anyway, that’s not the point of this post. My point is a slip of the tongue by Pres. George W. Bush. In this AP story, Bush says this about the ports being sold to DP World:

“The more people learn about the transaction that has been scrutinized and approved by MY government,” Bush said, “the more they’ll be comforted that our ports will be secure.”

My government? The last time I checked, the United States of America is still supposed to be a democracy. In a democracy, it is supposed to be “our government.”

Obviously, Bush meant to say “my administration.” But what came out was what Bush really feels. He thinks he is beyond reproach…that because he is president, he can’t be questioned or challenged. This is HIS government. It’s not ours anymore.

I don’t know…maybe I’m being too cynical, but between the Bush administration and some of these U.S. “Olympians” who think the point of the Games is to do a whole bunch of commercials before they start instead of actually representing–proudly and wholeheartedly–their country during them (yeah, I’m looking at you, Bode “Can Barely Finish a Race But Have a Ton of Cash from Nike” Miller), I’m just down on this country right now.

I mean, I’m not looking for everybody on Team USA to win a medal, but don’t sound stupid and don’t act like you don’t care when you are wearing the uniform with those three letters on it. Just do your best.

But instead we get a skater (Johnny Weir) who failed because he felt “black inside,” a snowboarder (Lindsey Jacobellis) who is sent to the Olympics to represent the United States but thinks she is there to have fun (and do a “showboat” move that costs Team USA a gold medal), and the infamous Mr. Miller, a fraud on skis I have started to call the James Frey of his sport.

Yeah…can you tell I have wanted to write somthing on my displeasure with the attitudes of many of the athletes on Team USA, too. Hadn’t gotten around to it until now, though.

But Kansas City Star columnist Joe Posnanski, a very good writer I have just recently discovered who is covering the Torino Winter Games, had this take on Mr. Miller:

“I was super aggressive,” he said. Bode really likes using that word “super” as an adjective, doesn’t he? You know, I’m going to say that if he really had been SUPER aggressive, he might have, you know, inspected the course beforehand like other skiers did. Bode did not. He rarely does. Instead, Bode tumbled out of his trailer with barely an hour to go before the race, like some college kid rushing to his 8 a.m. class.

If that’s super aggressive, I can only imagine what plain old normal aggressive might have been. Sleeping through the first half of his race?

I encourage you to read Poz’s work on the KC Star site, especially the recent Olympic columns. Good stuff.

OK…let’s see. Criticized the sale of the U.S. ports. Check. Mocked Bush. Check. Called out the overhyped U.S. Olympians. Check. Plugged my new favorite sports columnist, Joe Posnanski. Check.

My work is done for today.

A cool site for live music lovers

I just read about a site called PodBop.org that allows you too look up musical acts coming to your town (or one near you) and download podcasts of those artists.

For instance, I searched for shows in Philadelphia, PA and the site produced a page of upcoming shows with links to information about the artists as well as direct links to one or two MP3 samples from those acts. However, the search also includes a link allowing you to download a podcast that includes MP3s of the artists coming to town along with information about their shows.

The site seemed a bit slow at times, but I do like the concept. Check it out.

Another song in the making?

I spent the weekend working on this song, tentatively titled “Heart of the Matter.” It’s just some piano right now…and I’m not sure I want to add anything else to it except vocals (didn’t get around to writing words, but the phrase “heart of the matter” came to mind during one of the parts so I used it for a title).

Anyway, all the motifs heard in my previous attempts at songwriting are there. Of course, once I actually stepped back and listened to it without playing it, I realized some of the parts sound a bit too close to those in “Parting of the Ways,” so I have to work out some phrasing.

That being said, I figured I should put it up on the blog as a work-in-progress demo. Enjoy!

Heart of the Matter (5:23/6.2MB)
(instrumental demo)

Now, the Philly curse extends to NBA dunk contests

I’m used to Philly teams coming up short in big spots…it’s been a tradition since the Sixers won the city’s last major championship, the NBA title, in 1983.

But, after last night’s NBA dunk contest, the “Philly curse” has ventured into exhibition events.

Andre Iguodala, 6-foot-6 swingman for the 76ers who won MVP honors for Friday night’s NBA Rookie (vs. Sophomore) Challenge, clearly got screwed in the dunk contest, which is held each year as part of the NBA’s All-Star Weekend. Instead, 5-foot-9 rookie Nate Robinson of the New York Knicks walked away with the title…after taking 14 tries–about 10 minutes of everybody’s time–to make his dunk in the first-ever “dunk off” (the two were tied at 94 points after their two dunks in the final round).

Now, Robinson’s dunk was good, but there is no freakin’ way he should have been awarded 47 points for it. Two judges gave him 10s and the other three gave him nines. Now, if you take 14 tries to make a dunk, you should not be allowed to get anything higher than a nine.

On Iguodala’s final dunk, he took two attempts to convert a between-the-legs-left-handed slam that he started with a baseline drive from the right corner. It was a sweet dunk and even the TNT announcers thought that sealed the win for the second-year Sixer. And, for a brief second, they were right. Four of the five judges initially put up three 10s and a nine…with the fifth judge slow in getting his card up. But as that last judge raised his card, one judge mysteriously took down the 10 and replaced it with a nine…and the “slow” judge inexplicably put up an eight.

AN EIGHT?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Iggy took about 25 seconds to complete an excellent dunk and only got 46 points. Nate #*$(*#@ Robinson took FOURTEEN ATTEMPTS to throw down his dunk and gets a pair of 10s and three nines because of a sympathy vote for being a) a midget, and b) a member of the craptacular New York Knicks.

Un-freakin-believable.

So the judges–Kenny Smith, Elvin Hayes, Rudy Tomjanovich, Moses Malone (whose combined presence with current 76ers coach Maurice Cheeks and Julius “Dr. J” Erving helped the ’83 Sixers win the NBA title) and Clyde Drexler–basically robbed Iguodala of the slam dunk championship. If the NBA thought it would be a good idea to have a one-trick pony like Nate Robinson win the slam dunk contest this year, well, the Association just cost itself many years of exciting dunks by Iguodala in the contest. After getting screwed over, Iguodala–while publicly gracious in defeat–said he likely won’t be participating in the event ever again.

Way to go, NBA! Just give the slam dunk title to Robinson because he was able to leap over another midget–5-foot-7 Spud Webb, the 1986 slam dunk winner–for his second dunk in the final round after Iguodala picked up a perfect 50 for his first dunk, a monster slam preceded by a bounce pass to himself and an in-the-air-behind-the-back hand transfer.

Iguodala needed three attempts for his second dunk of the final round and still received a questionable 44 points, which set up the even-more-questionable “dunk off.”

And I haven’t even gotten to the fact that Iguodala completed the best dunk of the night and one of the most creative dunks in the entire history of the contest in the second round.

With Sixers teammate Allen Iverson helping out, Iguodala threw down a dunk after taking off from behind–that’s right, BEHIND–the backboard. After clearing away the photographers sitting along the right corner of the baseline to create a lane for himself, Iguodala had Iverson throw a pass off the backside of the backboard. On the first attempt, Iguodala scraped his face on the bottom edge of the backboard. After an errant pass by Iverson on the second try, Iguodala caught the third pass off the reverse side of the backboard, ducked under the bottom edge and threw down a reverse slam that will live on forever in NBA lore (see the sequence of photos from NBA.com below).










or…

And here is Iguodala’s other 50-point dunk of the night…again, sick…

(Photos: Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE via Getty Images)

Nashville, here I come…yee-haw!


I have just received the purchase order number to complete my travel arrangements for the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Editors Forum at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel in Nashville, Tennessee, March 29-31.

Since Ben Folds will be on tour then, I guess I’ll just have to break into his house ; )

Damn, Ben will be at Vanderbilt on April 22. Stupid crappy timing.

And I have to pay very close attention because I’ll be required to make a special presentation at the divisional senior staff meeting held after my return. Of course, since I’m not senior staff, I have no idea when that is. But I get back on a Friday so I at least have the weekend to prepare if it’s the following Monday.

(Photo courtesy of Opry.com)

First Mac OS X Trojan found in the wild

CNET News.com reports a malicious program that could be the first Trojan in the wild to target Apple Computer’s Mac OS X operating system has been discovered. The Trojan is spread through iChat.

Apple and outside analysts said the program, referred to as Leap-A, is not a “virus” per se. Rather, it “requires a user to download the application and execute the resulting file,” Apple said in a statement to CNET News.com. The company provided no further comment on the nature of the program.

The malicious software, which has also been dubbed OSX/Oompa-A and the Ooompa Loompa Trojan Horse by other security experts, appears to have spread minimally so far and has achieved low-level threat classifications from McAfee and Symantec…

…Classified as both a worm and a Trojan, Leap-A appears to have begun its movement earlier this week after it was posted at a forum for Mac-related rumors. The file appeared as an external link promising pre-release screenshots of the upcoming Mac OS X 10.5, also known as Leopard.

Leap-A, which appears to affect only the OS X 10.4 platform, spreads primarily via the Apple iChat instant-messaging program. The program forwards itself as a compressed file called “latestpics.tgz” to all the contacts on the infected user’s buddy list each time the program starts up.

However, it’s up to the user to actually accept the download and then try to open the file to activate the Trojan…and we Mac users know better than that, right? RIGHT?

The mob, I mean, the record industry is at it again

How is the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) not brought up on racketeering charges? As this article states, the RIAA continues to insist you don’t really own the compact discs you purchase.

In a joint reply filed with the government as part of the triennial review of the effectiveness of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), the RIAA says ripping CDs you legally purchased and/or making backups of those CDs are not covered by “fair use.”

There are a number of ridiculous comments from the RIAA in the joint reply, which can be viewed here in PDF format.

One that stands out relates to the bungled attempt by Sony to put a spyware-like digital rights management (DRM) application on its CDs that installed a rootkit on Windows-based PCs, leaving them vulnerable to particular Trojan horse-like virus. In response to complaints that such a DRM prevents users from listening to CDs on their computers, the RIAA counters that many inexpensive CD players are readily available (a footnote even includes prices and links to two models sold on Best Buy’s online store…I guess Best Buy is getting a piece of the RIAA action).

Of course, “playback [of a lawfully acquired CD] on a modern CD device installed in personal computers … is unquestionably non-infringing,” as the Register found in 2003. But even in the circumstances described in these submissions, consumers may listen to their CDs, without the installation of any additional software (objectionable or otherwise), on other platforms, notably including stand-alone players that are compatible with CD Audio Redbook Format. The Register found in 2003 that this state of affairs was not “more than a mere inconvenience,” because “standard CD players are readily available and inexpensive.” That is, if anything, even more true today.

That’s fantastic…because life isn’t cluttered enough, the RIAA wants you to get a CD player to put next to the perfectly capable CD player in the computer on your desk because it would rather resort to computer piracy as a means to extract every last cent from you.

But, wait, there’s more. The RIAA then says if you want your music on your computer, you better buy it in a format native to your computer…because you shouldn’t have the right to “format-shift” the music you legally purchased on CD.

Where a market is functioning to serve the demand otherwise being fulfilled by unauthorized copying, the likelihood that the unauthorized copying is fair use is diminished. In such a market, the inconvenience that faces consumers of works tethered to specific devices is far outweighed by the threat to the enjoyment of copyright posed by illegal digital distribution facing copyright owners.

That part about the market “functioning to serve the demand otherwise being fulfilled by unauthorized copying” refers to services like iTunes that sell music in a format that resides on your computer or digital music player. The RIAA’s position is that since such services exist, anybody who is importing music from a CD onto a computer is doing it for “evil” purposes. Of course, since the RIAA conveniently leaves out any meaningful statistics to back up this statement, I have no idea if this is accurate.

In any case, here is the deal from the RIAA perspective: If you want to store your music in a digital format, you HAVE to buy it in digital format from an online service. Now, as an avid iTunes customer, I don’t remember the last time I purchased an actual CD. However, with my eclectic tastes in music, it is not guaranteed something I want is available on iTunes. Also, some people just like buying CDs because they like having something physical in their hands (i.e., the disc, artwork, liner notes, etc.). However, according to the RIAA, if someone buys a CD, that person does not have the legal right to import it onto a computer so the music can reside in his or her digital music library…even though the music is in digital format on the CD.

I boldfaced the part about the “inconvenience” because the RIAA insists you should only be allowed to listen to a CD on a computer with a CD drive–not import it. Of course, even listening to it may be a problem if the RIAA is going to let companies basically put spyware on their CDs. But I digress…the real issue is if I’m flying for five-plus hours somewhere, one CD isn’t going to cut it. And I’m not wasting precious carry-on space for a stack of CDs to keep taking in and out of the laptop. And since I can’t import them onto my computer, I can’t put them on my iPod, which would be the simplest solution. So what the RIAA really means is, “It’s inconvenient for our bottom lines if we’re not ripping you off by charging you at least twice for the same music so you can have it in different formats.”

The RIAA then says that simply making copies of your CDs, without any intent to share or distribute them, is copyright infringement under all circumstances…

To the extent that the submissions propose a similar exemption with regard to CDs, the Register’s analysis of DVDs is equally applicable. The submissions provide no arguments or legal authority that making back up copies of CDs is a noninfringing use. In addition, the submissions provide no evidence that access controls are currently preventing them from making back up copies of CDs or that they are likely to do so in the future. Myriad online downloading services are available and offer varying types of digital rights management alternatives. For example, the Apple FairPlay technology allows users to make a limited number of copies for personal use. Presumably, consumers concerned with the ability to make back up copies would choose to purchase music from a service that allowed such copying. Even if CDs do become damaged, replacements are readily available at affordable prices. Similar to the motion picture industry, the recording industry has faced, in online piracy, a direct attack on its ability to enjoy its copyrights. Granting the requested exemption would further weaken the industry’s ability to protect its copyrights in the digital marketplace.

Now, since I mentioned earlier that I haven’t purchased an actual CD in a long time, I don’t know if there are any CD replacement programs in place through any retailers or record companies that allow you to swap a damaged CD for the same title at a discounted price. However, I seriously doubt it. Apparently, some studios have programs that allow you to replace broken DVDs at a drastically reduced rate (according to footnotes in the joint reply, Disney and Fox Home Entertainment will replace broken DVDs for about $7 a disc). Since none of the record companies are listed in the joint reply as having such programs for CDs, I can only assume you would have to pay full price to replace a damaged CD (assuming the store does not allow a simple exchange for the same title).

But here is where it gets really interesting, as Ken “Caesar” Fisher writes on ArsTechnica.com:

But they’re not done with that argument. The real kicker is buried in a footnote, where the joint reply suggests the unthinkable: that making copies of CDs for any purpose may, in fact, be infringement.

Nor does the fact that permission to make a copy in particular circumstances is often or even “routinely” granted, see C6 at 8, necess
arily establish that the copying is a fair use when the copyright owner withholds that authorization. In this regard, the statement attributed to counsel for copyright holders in the Grokster case, is simply a statement about authorization, not about fair use.

Allow me to translate: just because people have been copying CDs in the past doesn’t mean that that they had the authorization to do so, and a general trend does not override such explicit authorization. But as the EFF has picked up, the RIAA is engaging in a little historical revision. Their last comment about the Grokster case is attempting to change the substance of comments that were uttered by their own legal counsel. Why they would do this is abundantly clear when you see the statement in question:

“The record companies, my clients, have said, for some time now, and it’s been on their website for some time now, that it’s perfectly lawful to take a CD that you’ve purchased, upload it onto your computer, put it onto your iPod.”

It looks like someone is having a change of heart.

In the world of the joint reply, if and when the RIAA and its member studios say that copying your CDs is not permitted, then it’s not permitted. Forget fair use. Forget historical precedent. The joint reply here is arguing that copyright owners have the authority to deny what has become fair use—what their own lawyers have admitted is fair use in front of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Just how many CDs is one person expected to buy? What really bothers me is that the RIAA responses in the joint reply all defend the “copyright owners,” but that is laughable. The two groups that get screwed over the most by the RIAA are the consumers and the “copyright owners” (i.e., the songwriters).

Instead of just giving songwriters a bigger piece of the pie, the record industry would rather spend its money on lawyers trying to rip more people off so it can pay for marketing the latest half-naked, no-talent hack in the limited amount of years before she marries a complete loser, has a kid and is forgotten except by the paparazzi who just can’t wait for the next time she’s smoking and/or drinking while pregnant or driving with her baby on her lap.

By the way, any similarities in that last sentence to factual people or events is purely coincidental.